Mineral Area Overhead Door was founded in Rivermines in 1978 by Roger and Jeannie Lewis. Roger was a long time flooring salesman who had built a garage and needed overhead doors for it. Through that experience, he recognized a need and saw an opportunity for a new business venture in garage doors.
1980The home based business grew with the help of friends and Roger continued to sell flooring while the start up was in its infancy. By 1980, Roger was full time in the door business with Jeannie by his side and sons soon to follow.
In 1982, the business acquired the former Miners Lumber Company property at the corner of Hwy 32 and Science St. in Flat River. Through the years, family and others worked to grow the business until 1995 when a new piece of property was purchased to build a new location with highway visibility.
In 1996, the new showroom and warehouse were completed at 1020 Woodlawn Dr. off Hwy 67 just North of Farmington.
The business added additional products and services to diversify in the early 2000s. In 2011, Roger and Jeannie fully retired. In 2018, we celebrated 40 years of business.
Today, the third generation is continuing in the business. Roger and Jeannie's daughter, son-in-law, 3 sons, and 3 grandsons work in the business along with other valued members who are treated like family. Today's goal remains the same — to provide professional service and quality products to homeowners and businesses in the Mineral Area, Southeast Missouri, Greater St. Louis, and beyond.